The Branch Line Society

Guest

Latest News

You can find all the latest news on galas on this page:

Page Last Updated on 16th Mar at 19:00



All feedback on this page is welcome and you can send that along with any Gen you may have on diesel galas (not diesel running days please) to the following e-mail address: gen@branchline.uk


Mid Norfolk Railway

Friday 3rd - Sunday 5th April 2020

37240, 50050, 56051 and and locos from DRS and GBRf are the first visitors announced


Epping & Ongar Railway

Saturday 18th - Sunday 19th April 2020

03170 on Brake Van rides, 20001 if maintenance is completed in time, 31438, 37029 and 47635 are expected to produce


Ecclesbourne Valley Railway

Friday 24th - Sunday 26th April 2020

08605, 08704, D9537, D5054, 31601, 33103 and 73210 are expected to produce

The full roster is here: doc


Swanage Railway

Friday 24th - Sunday 26th April 2020

33012, 33111, 37190, 44004, 50021, 50026, 55019, 73/1 from GBRf and a DRS loco are expected to work


Embsay & Bolton Abbey Railway

Saturday 25th - Sunday 26th April 2020

D9513, D5600 and 37294 are expected to feature


Kent & East Sussex Railway

Saturday 25th April 2020

08888 to power The Andrew Wilson (Brillo) Memorial Charter. Please go to the Fixtures Page to book


East Kent Railway

Saturday 25th April 2020

08502 and 08676 to work for an hour between 17:00-18:00 to allow people to whip them in after the Andrew Wilson (Brillo) Memorial Charter. Please go to the Fixtures Page to book


Ribble Valley Railway

Saturday 25th - Sunday 26th April 2020


Great Central Railway

Saturday 2nd - Sunday 3rd May 2020


Severn Valley Railway

Thursday 14th - Sunday 17th May 2020

08XXX, 09XXX, D9551, D8568, 20XXX, D5081, 33108, 37190, 40106, D821, 44004, 47712, 50XXX, D1062, 55019, DRS visiting loco and GBRF visiting loco are expected to feature


Peak Rail (Heritage Shunters Trust)

Saturday 23rd - Sunday 24th May 2020


North Yorkshire Moors Railway

Thursday 4th - Saturday 6th June 2020

D7628 and 37264 are the first locos quoted for this one


West Somerset Railway

Thursday 4th - Sunday 7th June 2020

D9526, D6566, D6575, D7018 and visitors 25309 and 55019. More visitors are expected


Swindon and Cricklade Railway

Saturday 6th - Sunday 7th June 2020


Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway

Friday 12th - Sunday 14th June 2020


North Norfolk Railway

Friday 12th - Sunday 14th June 2020

20227, 25309, 37032 and a DRS visitor are the first locos added to the line-up


Bo'ness Railway

Friday 12th - Sunday 14th June 2020


Keighley & Worth Valley Railway

Friday 26th - Sunday 28th June 2020

D821 and 55019 are the first locos added to the line-up


Wensleydale Railway

Saturday 27th - Sunday 28th June 2020

A FOC visitor is expected


Midland Railway Centre

Saturday 27th - Sunday 28th June 2020


East Lancs Railway

Thursday 2nd - Saturday 4th July 2020


Chasewater Railway

Saturday 11th - Sunday 12th July 2020


Gloucestershire & Warwickshire Railway

Friday 24th - Sunday 26th July 2020

55019 is expected to visit for this gala


Manx Heritage Transport Festival

Saturday 1st August 2020

Diesel No 18 ‘Ailsa’ (Hunslet LD9342/1994, ex Jubilee Line extension project) will be working three trips between Douglas Station and Douglas Home Signal at 10:30, 13:00 and 15:00. These are the first known and most likely only workings ‘Ailsa’ will undertake – it spends most of the time shunting at Doulgas being a very low speed machine and thus not suitable for pax work. The Saturday also have various diesels on display at Laxey on the Manx Electric and Snaefell Mountain Railway, with No 34 ‘Maria’, the Wickham Railcar and the MEC on display on the MER at Laxey station and the NATS Wickham Railcars No. 3 & 4 on display at Snaefell Car sheds.


Ecclesbourne Valley Railway

Friday 7th - Sunday 9th August 2020


Spa Valley Railway

Friday 7th - Sunday 9th August 2020


Caledonian Railway

Saturday 8th - Sunday 9th August 2020


Peak Rail (Heritage Shunters Trust)

Saturday 22nd - Sunday 23rd August 2020

It is hoped that D2229 or D2289 will debut at this gala


Great Central Railway

Friday 4th - Sunday 6th September 2020


Ribble Valley Railway

Saturday 5th - Sunday 6th September 2020


Dean Forest Railway

Friday 11th - Sunday 13th September 2020


Epping & Ongar Railway

Saturday 12th - Sunday 13th September 2020


Bodmin Railway

Saturday 12th - Sunday 13th September 2020


East Lancs Railway

Friday 18th - Saturday 19th September 2020


Great Central Railway (Nottingham)

Saturday 19th - Sunday 20th September 2020


Gloucestershire and Warwickshire Railway

Saturday 26th - Sunday 27th September 2020

55019 is expected to visit for this gala


Llangollen Railway

Saturday 26th - Sunday 27th September 2020


Severn Valley Railway

Thursday 1st - Sunday 4th October 2020


Nene Valley Railway

Thursday 9th - Sunday 11th October 2020


South Devon Railway

Thursday 9th - Sunday 11th October 2020


Spa Valley Railway

Friday 16th - Sunday 18th October 2020


Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway

Monday 28th December 2020