The Branch Line Society

Railway Rights of Way

Acknowledgements for information supplied

In addition to the individual contributors (listed below) and local authorities (listed on their own page), three books have proven a useful starting point in collating this information:-

A. Walking Old Railways, by Christopher Somerville, published by David & Charles in 1979 (tabulated list on pp124 - 140).

B. Railway Walks - Exploring Disused Railways, by Gareth Lovett Jones, published by David & Charles in 1980/1983 (tabulated list on pp279 - 281).

C. A Guide to Routes in the Making. Report by John Grimshaw & Associates published by the Railway Path Project, Bristol & Wem, 1983.

Though some time has now elapsed since the appearance of these works, they remain useful as a reference list and are highly recommended as useful sources of reading on the subject. Book C above differs in that it advocates a substantial number of path conversions especially for cyclists' usage, many of which have since been developed and brought into use.

The following individual contributors have provided information for inclusion in the lists:-

      1. Mr R J Barry 35. Mr F A Quayle
      2. Mr G Beecroft 36. Mr P F Udey
      3. Mr A W Brackenbury 37. Mr M Ellison
      4. Mr A L Bragg 38. Mr R J S Owen
      5. Mr D G Budgen 39. Mr K Walter
      7. Mr T Cooper 40. Mr B J Girt
      8. Mr R Hamilton 41. Mr G Weston
      9. Mr J Harrison 42. Mr C J Gammell
      10. Mr G Hebdon 43. Mr D Wilkinson
      11. A.N.O. 44. Dr A L Barnett
      12. Mr R B A Holden 45. Mr W Platt
      13. Mr M Lynches 46. Mr D P Francis
      14. Dr P Owen 47. Sustrans Ltd.
      15. Mr N Pitts 48. Mr D J Bickell
      16. Mr H Pryer 49. Mr D Reynolds
      17. Mr J Rennilson 50. Mr C Hall
      18. Dr P A Stewart 51. Mr I Morris
      19. Mr N Wassell 52. Greater Manchester Cycling Project
      20. Mr R Wilkes 53. Mr M A L Ross
      21. Mr J Williamson 54. Mr D Kennedy
      22. Mr N Willis (Railway Ramblers)       55. Mr J Bird
      23. Mr R J Caston 56. Mr S Branch
      24. Mr N Bowditch 57. Mr A M Jervis
      25. Mr C Tennant 58. Mr J Vinter
      26. Mr W R Burton 59. Mr W J Graveson
      27. Mr C N Parker 60. Mr D C Kimber
      28. Mr D J Monger 61. Mr J J J Holmes
      29. Mr A Sheppard 62. Mr D S Cromarty
      30. Mr C Betts 63. Mr I Delgado
      31. Mr A Elsy 64. Mr I Prince
      32. Mr G N Webb 65. Mr K Potter
      33. Mr G Carey 66. Mr R Dempsey
      34. Mr D McLeish  

Edition 2.12 - 1 Jan 2021